I walked up the beach. The sand squished and stuck to my toes but the cool waves would quickly wash it off.

I sighed and continued to walk away from my house. I felt the sting of tears prick at my eyes. I couldn’t believe that they forgot my birthday. For the last week my 5-year old son and 12-year old daughter had been drilling me on what I wanted and then my birthday roles around and they forget.

My husband never forgot anything. I would forget every holiday except Halloween and Christmas and Derick would always remind me.

I felt really sad about this. A few tears began to spill down my cheeks. But I wiped my eyes and said, “Buck up cowgirl.”

It took me over and hour to walk to my house. When I walked into the kitchen it was 4:00 in the afternoon. The kitchen was empty.

When I walked into the living room a huge surprise was waiting for me. All my friends, my parents, and family were waiting for me. The room was covered with balloons and streamers. On a table in the middle of the room there was a huge pile of presents and a velvet cake.

Now it wasn’t tears of sadness that fell down my face, but instead tears of joy. I hugged everyone and through the rest of the day I smiled, ate cake, and opened presents.

When the party was over and I laid down after praying, I turned to my husband and said, “I love you.”

He turned to me and said, “I love you too. Happy birthday.”

